Semin Thromb Hemost 2014; 40(07): 718-723
DOI: 10.1055/s-0034-1394107
Thieme Medical Publishers 333 Seventh Avenue, New York, NY 10001, USA.

2014 Eberhard F. Mammen Award Announcements: Part II—Young Investigator Awards

Emmanuel J. Favaloro
1  Department of Haematology, Institute of Clinical Pathology and Medical Research (ICPMR), Westmead Hospital, Westmead, New South Wales, Australia
› Institutsangaben
Weitere Informationen


14. Oktober 2014 (online)

Welcome to another of our Eberhard F. Mammen award announcements. As noted previously,[1] [2] [3] Thieme, the publisher of Seminars in Thrombosis & Hemostasis, has created the Eberhard F Mammen Excellence in Thrombosis and Hemostasis Awards in honor of Eberhard Mammen ([Fig. 1]), and in recognition of his contribution to this field and to the journal that he both founded and steered for over three decades. These awards began in 2009, under the following two categories:

Zoom Image
Fig. 1 Eberhard F Mammen (1930–2008).
  • Most Popular Article Awards: Awarded to the authors of the most popular articles published in Seminars in Thrombosis & Hemostasis. The awards will be determined by the Editor in Chief on the basis of user statistics from Thieme E-Journals from the preceding 2 years. The awards comprise of up to three major cash prizes of US $1,000 plus “free access” status for these articles thereafter on at

  • Young Investigator Awards: Best presentation or meeting abstract by a young investigator—as presented or delivered to an international or large regional meeting on a topic related to the fields of thrombosis and hemostasis, and whose subject matter is determined to be in the spirit of Dr. Mammen. Up to six cash prizes of US $1,000 in any year. Awardees are expected to prepare a review or other article related to the topic of their presentation for publication in Seminars in Thrombosis & Hemostasis.

Further details of the awards and the award winners are posted online (, and previous award winner announcements are also available in print.[4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10]

The winners of the 2014 Eberhard F. Mammen awards for the most popular articles from Seminars in Thrombosis & Hemostasis for the period of 2012 to 2013 inclusive were announced earlier this year.[10] It is therefore with great pleasure that we announce the winners of the 2014 Young Investigator Awards related to meetings held in the recent past.